Links and Resources

Few destinations in the world -- and certainly no other country the size of Belize -- can offer so many informative and interesting Web sites as Belize. In fact, Belize may soon have more Web home pages than actual homes ... or tourists.  Here are some helpful ones.


San Pedro Sun (http://www.ambergriscaye.com/sanpedrosun/)
Like the newspaper, this home page is friendly, chatty, informative, and upbeat.

Ambergris Caye (http://www.ambergriscaye.com)
Everything you always wanted to know about San Pedro.

Ambergris Today (http://www.ambergristoday.com)
This up-and-coming weekly newspaper now gives the older San Pedro Sun a run for its money;  the web site can be irritating, as it's done in Flash.

Caye Caulker  (http://www.belizecayecaulker.net)

Helpful and well-done new site on Caye Caulker.  This site doesn't yet show up on some search engines.

Belizeans.com (http://www.belizeans.com)

The forum here attracts more Belizeans than most of the travel-related sites.

Belize Guide (http://www.belize-guide.info)

This site has some travel information on Belize, though some is too generic to be useful, and it focuses only on a small handful of Belize's 500+ hotels.

Placencia (http://www.placencia.com)

Excellent information on everything related to Placencia.

Destinations Belize (http://www.destinationsbelize.com)

A great site by Mary Toy with tons of information on Placencia.

Burrell Boom (http://www.burrellboom.com)

New site devoted to the village of Burrell Boom, "Gateway to Belize's River Valley."

Belize North (http://www.belizenorth.com)

Terrific information by "Sr. Ric" on living in Belize and on the Corozal Town area.

Toucan Trail (http://www.toucantrail.com)

Although this site focuses on budget and low-moderate priced accommodations (hotels with rates of US$60 and less), it also has wonderful information on travel in Belize regardless of budget.  It's affiliated with the Belize Tourism Board and was done by the Belize by Naturalite group.

Belize Forums  (http://www.belizeforum.com)

This is an active bulletin board about Belize.

Belize Tourism Board (http://www.travelbelize.org)
Good "official" overview of what to expect in Belize, with information on most hotels and vacation rentals in Belize.

Lonely Planet - Destination Belize  (http://www.lonelyplanet.com/dest/cam/belize.htm/)

Lonely Planet's well-regarded site has an informative section on Belize. The Thorntree bulletin board on Central America is at http://thorntree.lonelyplanet.com/categories.cfm?catid=12

Belize Culture Mailing List

This is an active mailing list which unfortunately sometimes deteriorates into personal attacks and non-Belize postings. To subscribe to this mailing list, send to bz-culture-request@psg.com the message: subscribe


Amandala On-Line (http://belizemall.com/amandala/)
New home page for Amandala weekly newspaper.

Belize Real Estate (www.realestateinbelize.org/index.php)

A new web site featuring real estate ads for property in Belize.

Avalon Travel Publishing (http://www.avalonpub.com)

Lan Sluder's Adapter Kit: Belize and Living Abroad in Belize are published by Avalon.  Avalon also publishes books in the Living Abroad series on Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Mexico and other countries in the region.

Planeta.com (http://www.planeta.com)

News and information about Central America, including Belize, by author Ron Mader

PuntaGordaBelize.com  (http://www.puntagordabelize.com)

The official web site of the town of Punta Gorda.

BelmopanBelize.com (http://www.belmopanbelize.com)

Information on Belize's capital city.

  Stonetree Records (http://www.stonetreerecords.com)

Stonetree has been making Belize music since 1995.

  Fodor's (http://www.fodors.com)

Some guidebooks authored or co-authored by Lan Sluder, including Fodor's InFocus Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Fodor's The Carolinas and Georgia, and the new Fodor's Belize 2010 are published by this Random House division.


Related Links for Expats


Escape Artist  (http://www.escapeartist.com)
One of the Web's most popular sites for information on options for expats.

Expat World (http://www.expatworld.net/)

The newsletter for international living.

  Expatsreunite.com  (http://www.expatsreunite.com)

A site that is supposed to help you locate expats.

 

Belize First Home Page
Belize First
Home Page


This page, and all contents, are Copyright © 1996-2010 Belize First/Lan Sluder. All rights reserved.